Saffron Fish Soup with Julienned Vegetables

17 Nov

I love eating soup on a cold evening – it’s so heart-warming. Having gotten sick of pureed soups, I looked through my soup recipe collection and pulled out one which featured fish pieces in a light broth. At the same time, I had a vision of a saffron-infused fish soup I had in a restaurant a few months ago. I wondered if I could transform my recipe into the restaurant soup without going through too much bother. So a little experimenting was about to begin and I must say, the result is a very easy soup which can be whipped up in minutes – voilà!

Image

I actually made this recipe twice. The first time I followed a recipe I found on the internet which claimed to be a saffron fish soup but which didn’t turn out, color-wise, how I wanted it to be. The recipe also used garlic which I felt, came on too strong although only one clove garlic was used. The next time around, I used ginger instead which turned out to be a much better choice. I didn’t salt the fish and I thought it was fine.

Saffron Fish Soup with Julienned Vegetables (serves 2)

300 gr firm white fish fillets or a mixture, cut into big pieces

1 carrot, julienned

60 gr leek, julienned

2 big mushrooms, sliced

1 shallot, sliced

1-2 slices ginger, julienned

½ medium tomato, seeds removed and diced

2 cups vegetable broth (if you have fish broth made from fish bones, all the better)

pinch saffron

cream

olive oil

Heat about 1 Tbsp olive oil in a frying pan and sauté the onions. When glazed, add the carrots and sauté a few minutes before adding the ginger, leeks and then the mushrooms. When done, set aside.

In a saucepan, bring the broth to a boil. If you are not averse to using broth granules, you can quickly make up some broth this way. Your broth should be tasty at this point as you won’t be adding any other seasoning after this. If it isn’t, season it with salt and pepper or broth granules. Then add a pinch of saffron to the broth. You won’t really see the yellow color yet.

Add the fish pieces and tomatoes and let cook on a low fire for a few minutes (not more than 5 min) till the fish is lightly done. Put in the cooked veggies and stir gently to mix. To bring out the yellow color, add some cream. You can add as much as you want. The cream serves to bring out the yellowness of the saffron and it’s really up to you. I put in about 1-2 Tbsp.

Light and lovely! If you have enough fish in your soup, you can do away with the crusty bread! 🙂

Print this recipe – Saffron Fish Soup with Julienned Vegetables

Leave a Reply

