Roswitha’s Pumpkin Soup

1 Dec

Ok, I didn’t think I would do another post on pumpkins so soon after my post on Ginny’s Pumpkin Chili but … I went out into the garden yesterday and saw all the little pumpkins I had strewn all over, here and there, as Halloween decorations and thought … other people have already put their Christmas decorations out and I’m still at Halloween! No go – so I quickly cleared them all away. And here they are now sitting in the living room. They still look nice and I don’t want to throw them away.

Among these little cuties was a Hokkaido pumpkin – starting to get a bit soft. I had totally forgotten about it. It was supposed to be part of the decoration till I felt like having pumpkin soup. Trouble was we still had the pulp of the other gigantic pumpkin to eat and I thought the Hokkaido would last a bit longer out in the cold. So now, it was time to make pumpkin soup. Now that I’ve had pumpkin soup made from the big pumpkin, I think the Hokkaido has a much better flavour. I’ve only ever made anything with pumpkin using Hokkaido pumpkins – primarily because you can cook the pumpkin with the skin. And what I’ve  made has always been pumpkin soup – in different variations. The one I like the best so far is a pumpkin soup I had in a little pension in the Bavarian Forest owned by a lady named Roswitha. She could cook really well. One afternoon, as an activity offered to guests, she showed us how to make pumpkin soup. This soup is so easy.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Roswitha’s Pumpkin Soup

(serves 3-4)

1 Hokkaido pumpkin (500-600gm)

1 onion or 2 shallots, chopped

3 cups water

1 Tbsp Olive oil

2-3 tsp curry powder

salt as needed, I used 1 1/2 tsp

1-2 tsp Balsamico

Pumpkinseed oil )

Pumpkin seeds   )   all very important

Chopped chives  )

Wash and brush  pumpkin with a potato brush to remove any soil. Slice off ends of pumpkin, then slice in half. Scoop out seeds and fibres. Cut into small pieces, removing any hard bits on the surface.

Heat olive oil in pan and sauté onions/shallots till glazed. Add pumpkin and sauté further. Sprinkle with curry powder. Stir well to mix. Add water, bring to a boil, lower heat and cook till pumpkin is soft, about 15-20 min.

Soup before being pureed

Puree. Add some water if soup is too thick. Season with salt and balsamico.

Pureed soup

Ladle into bowls, sprinkle with chives, pumpkin seeds and drizzle with pumpkin seed oil. These garnishings are very important not only visually but also to the whole taste of the soup. Try not to leave them out especially the pumpkin seed oil.

Nutritional Information per serving if 4 servings, calculated without the toppings

Total cal – 75.9 kcal; total fat – 0.6 gr; total carbohydrates – 19.8 gr (net carbs – 16.2 gr) ; total protein – 13.8 gr

I didn’t realise pumpkins were so rich in carbohydrates. It’s a good thing I’m not restricting myself strictly to 12 gr carbs per meal anymore.

Print this recipe – Roswitha’s Pumpkin Soup

Leave a Reply

