Pumpkin Chili

27 Nov

So Halloween is over, Thanksgiving is over. Have you used up all your pumpkin yet or are still looking for recipes to use up your leftovers which are not called Pumpkin Pie and Pumpkin Soup?

We had a big pumpkin for Halloween this year and do not celebrate Thanksgiving. So after making a pumpkin soup with some of the pulp, I searched on the net for other pumpkin recipes. To make things difficult, my daughter doesn’t eat anything orange – that is, anything flavoured with orange, carrots or pumpkin!!! I found a pumpkin gnocchi recipe (I thought I could pass off the orange colour as food colouring 🙂 ) but the gnocchis dissolved in the cooking water so that was the end of that. Then I came across Ginny’s pumpkin chili. Now this sounded unusual. And the photo looked just like regular chili.

I made it! Had to do some adjustments like take out the CHILI (!) but it turned out great. No one noticed that it had pumpkin in it and I didn’t say a word. It really was a pity that I had to omit the chilis and I would not suggest that you do likewise unless you also have to cater to different tastes in your family too.

So if this photo appeals to you then check out Ginny’s recipe here.

Ginny’s Pumpkin Chili

Here is a recipe from About.com to make the 2 tsp pumpkin spice called for.

1 tsp cinnamon powder

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground allspice or cloves

Mix together and voila – pumpkin spice!

Leave a Reply

