Low Carb Wheaten Scones/Bread

25 Nov

Low Carb Wheaten Scones

Looking through my bread recipe collection, I came across a recipe for Irish Wheaten Bread given to me by an Irish lady I met a long time ago and to whom I have since lost contact. I’ve made this bread a few times and although it has always turned out perfect, just like the lady demonstrated to a group of us, it wasn’t favourably received at home because it was a bit sweet and had more of a cake-like rather than a spongy texture like regular bread (yeast is not used). I, on the other hand, enjoyed it very much but having to consume the whole loaf by myself was a bit much. This type of bread doesn’t keep moist for long and is best eaten fresh out of the oven.

Since there was a possibility of making these into Wheaten Scones ie. smaller portions, I chose this recipe to redevelop into a low carb version.

The end result is a scone which comes close to the original and which I can finally enjoy with butter. I don’t quite like butter with my Low Carb Sunflower Seed Loaf which is now a breakfast staple in our home. With these scones you need to slather butter or cream cheese on them! Low carb sinning!

If you don’t divide the dough out to make scones but roll it into a round and flatten it a bit, then you get a nice bread you can slice. I’ve scaled down the ingredients to make less than the original recipe because these scones are best eaten fresh so you don’t want to have too much leftovers. Do double the quantity for a bigger group. Should there nevertheless be leftovers, pop the scones or slices into the microwave for about 10-15 seconds to refresh them.

Low Carb Wheaten Scones/Bread

(makes 5 scones or 1 small loaf)

40 gr gluten

30 grams ground almonds

30 gr soy flour

15 gr wheat bran

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

3/4 tsp sugar –  increase this if you like your bread sweeter

15 gr butter

1 medium egg, beaten

50 ml buttermilk

Mix all the dry ingredients together and rub in the chilled butter till the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add the egg and buttermilk and stir to mix. Form into a ball. If you are making bread, just pat this down slightly and put onto a silicon sheet (I have not baked this on anything else so I don’t know if it will stick or not!)

If you wish to make scones, divide the dough into portions of your desired size and shape. I got 5 scones 45 gr each (uncooked weight).

Bake the scones at 180 °C for  20-25 min until the tops are brown. I haven’t made bread yet with this reduced quantity of dough. The baking time will depend on how flat you pat the dough. I would suggest trying 30 min and then take a look. If you tap the bread and it sounds hollow and the top is lightly browned, then it’s ready!

Nutritional Information for whole quantity

Total cal – 672.3; Fat – 41.2 gr; Carbs – 13.0 gr; Protein – 59.5 gr

Print this recipe – Low Carb Wheaten Scones/Bread

Leave a Reply

