Low Carb Soy Flour Pasta/Noodles

22 Nov

I found this wonderful recipe to make soy pasta during one of my google searches for low carb recipes on a German forum for owners of a wonder kitchen multitask machine – it can do almost everything under the sun and is called Thermomix. If I were just starting out and had a bare kitchen and that kind of money to spare, this looks like a great thing to have. Well, unfortunately, I can’t afford the machine (the new model costs over €900) but I nevertheless tried the recipe. Or rather, I took the ingredients and used my own method since I did not possess the machine and could not relate to the instructions. I also did not want to use my bread machine as my Low Carb Sunflower Seed Loaf made in the machine was less successful than the version made by hand!

Result – I came up with some amazing low carb noodles! Thank you, Sputnik (pen name of the recipe owner on Wunderkessel). I have a cookbook called The Essential Pasta Cookbook and in the past, I really enjoyed cooking from it. But sadly, it was relegated to the back of my bookshelf when I stopped eating carbs. I even considered throwing it away so that I would not be tempted to make anything out of it. Well, I am so glad I didn’t throw the book away. Over the course of the last two and a half months, I’ve made Spaghetti Bolognese, Spaghetti Aglio Olio, Cannelloni, Lasagne, Chicken Vegetable Noodle Soup, Fettucine with Chicken and Mushrooms, Tagliatelle with Feta, Spinach and Sun-dried Tomatoes and Chinese Stir-fried Noodles, just to name some of them, not all from the above book though.

Spaghetti Aglio Olio e Peperoncino

Chinese Stir-fried Noodles

I haven’t tried raviolis, tortellinis and Chinese won tons yet. Wasn’t sure if the dough would stick together enough to hold in the filling while cooking but I’ll never know unless I try. Now that’s a lot more recipes than you can do with Shirataki noodles. And the good thing is, they don’t even taste odd – more like whole-wheat pasta. I must stray a little and tell you about some ‘protein spirelli pasta’ I bought some time back from an online low carb shop. They had 14 gr carbs per 100 gr pasta (compared to my 3.1 gr below) and they tasted like eating badly cooked calamari – chewy and no taste. Yucks!

First two notes of warning. Number 1 : This pasta, as mentioned, is made with soy flour AND gluten. If you have any concerns with eating soy and are not happy with its side effects or have a gluten allergy, then this is not a recipe for you.  I do notice that I do react to the pasta just like I would to eating any other beans (soy is after all, a bean) but that is all I have really ‘suffered’ from and it was not painful or unpleasant, if you get what I mean. Also, due to my eagerness to get the perfect pasta, I’ve eaten more soy pasta than I would normally eat any pasta, so this could account for the slight changes in my digestive system. 🙂 However, with all these noodle possibilities, I think I can live with the slight inconveniences caused by eating beans.

Number 2: you do need a pasta machine to do this. There is no way you could ever roll out the dough so thin and evenly, using your plain strength. I have an Altas pasta machine with a motor but of course, a hand-cranked one would work just as well. The Thermomix mentioned above can mix the dough but it can’t roll and cut the pasta. Ha!

So why has it taken so long for me to post. Well, I started out making spaghetti. The rollers of the pasta machine did not cut the dough properly. I ended up always with two strands attached together so I had to painstakingly pull them apart. This took a long time. The same happened with my tagliatelle but it was much easier separating the strands. My Atlas manual says that if the spaghetti doesn’t cut, it’s because the dough isn’t dry enough. I thought it was the fault of the dough and started trying different ratios of soy flour to gluten. I also let the dough rest for a few hours to dry it out but that didn’t work either. Then I googled and found that other users had the same problem making regular pasta with flour. Many said they would give up making spaghetti. Could it be the machine? Don’t know. Anyway, after trying various combinations of ingredients, I have come back to almost the same ingredients as those in Sputnik’s recipe. You may be using a different machine and may not even encounter my problems. After making the pasta several times, I find that spaghetti is the form that takes the longest to separate, so if yours comes out in double strands, be prepared to set aside a bit of extra time to separate them. I would not discourage you from making spaghetti because my Spaghetti Aglio Olio tasted great and so did the Stir-fried Chinese Noodles!

Low Carb Tagliatelle

Here is the recipe. It makes enough for 4 persons or 3, if the portions are larger. You get about 90 gr of uncooked pasta per person (if 4 servings). For cannelloni, I got enough to make 6 servings and still had leftover pasta. Same with lasagne. I had more pasta than necessary.

Low Carb Soy Flour Pasta/Noodles (serves 3-4)

120 gr soy flour (I use the full fat variety)

80-85 gr gluten

2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

2 tsp oil

2 Tbsp warm water

Mix the soy flour, gluten and salt well in a mixing bowl. Add the other ingredients, mix well with your hands, the traditional way, or with a spoon till the dough has come together. Turn out onto your work table and knead till smooth. Doesn’t take long. Wrap in cling wrap and leave to rest for about 30 min or as long as you can.

Unwrap your dough. Cut into 8 equal pieces and process it through your pasta machine as you would for regular pasta to your desired thickness and then cut into the form you like. Just so that you have an idea, here are the thicknesses I use. My Atlas pasta machine has 9 thickness settings with 1 being the thickest and 9 being the thinnest. For spaghetti and chinese noodles, I roll to 5 and then use the spaghetti attachment to cut. For tagliatelle, I roll to 8 and then cut (seemed to have the best result). For lasagne and cannelloni, I roll to 6.

To cook your pasta (I also pre-cooked my pasta before making lasagne and cannelloni), bring a huge pot of water to boil with some salt. When the water is boiling, put in your noodles and cook for 2 minutes. Watch your pot! The water sometimes foams up and overflows. Drain and use. If there is leftover pasta for whatever reason, the noodles end up in a soup the next day! No waste here!

Nutritional Information per serving if 4 servings

Total Cal – 249.6 kcal; Fat – 12.2 gr; Carbs – 3.1 gr, Protein – 31.9 gr

Print this recipe – Low Carb Soy Flour Pasta/Noodles

23 Responses to “Low Carb Soy Flour Pasta/Noodles”

  1. amiiwu August 16, 2012 at 23:29 #

    Hello,
    I’ve just come across this recipe whilst looking for things to cook with my soya flour. This looks perfect, as I sometimes really miss carbs! I’m just wondering, what is gluten/where can I buy it from? I’m in the UK by the way. Lovely blog! x

    • franinmunich August 17, 2012 at 02:12 #

      Hi there,
      Thanks for visiting my blog. You can get your ingredients from an online shop. They are usually cheaper. Here is one I found – http://www.lowcarbmegastore.com/baking/ingredients?page=1 – which is in the UK (if the link doesn’t work, google Lowcarb Megastore UK.) Gluten is listed under Wheat Gluten Powder. Further down the page is something called Carbalose which is more expensive. If you don’t mind the price, it’s supposed to work just like flour. Enjoy your pasta. Remember, don’t overlook them.

  2. mina October 22, 2012 at 03:14 #

    hi,

    Why do you need gluten for this recipe? can i omit it or any substitute for gluten? coz i have celiac disease.thanks.i hope you could make a video of this on youtube.

    • franinmunich October 22, 2012 at 07:31 #

      Hello Mina,
      Gluten is needed in this recipe to bind with the soy flour. Otherwise the dough will not hold together. If you have celiac disease, google for gluten-free recipes. There are lots out there. You can use gluten-free flour to make your pasta. If you don’t find this in your supermarket or organic supermarket, look for it in an online shop.
      Good luck, Fran

      • Steven July 3, 2016 at 09:13 #

        Can we use xanthan gum or Gaur gum instead of gluten flour. They are excellent binding agents too.

      • franinmunich July 3, 2016 at 09:24 #

        Hi Steven,
        no you can’t use xanthan gum or guar gum. Think of gluten as your flour and xanthan/guar as your cornstarch. You wouldn’t make pasta with pure cornstarch. 🙂

      • franinmunich July 3, 2016 at 09:31 #

        Steven, thought about it again. Although I haven’t tried it and it doesn’t seem like it would work, you could try making a half or quarter recipe and let us know what happened. You can’t use the same amount of xanthan or guar as gluten though, so experimentation is needed. I used the gluten to give the soy flour the needed wheat-texture.

  3. Joanne morrison October 18, 2014 at 19:47 #

    I cannot seem to find the low carb chickpea flour bread recipe in English, please help? Thanks Joanne

  4. Ebbie November 22, 2014 at 03:45 #

    Hi Fran, I’ve made your pasta recipe twice and I’ve had great success with it. I don’t know if it’s because I’m using different products, but my pasta comes out very gummy, and it isn’t as smooth as yours, and I wanted to know what I could be doing wrong? Is it my gluten maybe? If I add more liquid to it, it becomes pliable enough to roll out, so it’s great for lasagna.
    Also, I decided to make macaroni with this dough and it has come out okay, but came a part a bit in the boiling water, so I’m thinking that maybe it might need some more binder.

    • franinmunich November 23, 2014 at 22:48 #

      Hi Ebbie,
      Glad to hear that you’ve had some success with the noodle recipe. The pasta shouldn’t taste too gummy after cooking. If it does, I suspect it could be the gluten. Try reducing the gluten amount. You’ll have to do trial and error here. You mentioned that if you added more liquid, the dough is great for lasagna. Are you not able to cut this dough into noodles with the pasta machine’s attachment? If you have problems using the pasta machine to cut into noodles, try rolling the dough out into sheets as thin as you can get them and then cutting by hand with a knife.
      I must admit the dough is difficult to work with and a bt fragile.

    • jack January 1, 2015 at 11:59 #

      are you sure you are using gluten powder and not a high gluten flour?
      http://veganfeastkitchen.blogspot.com.au/2007/11/theres-big-difference-between-gluten.html

  5. Sandra Rennie March 28, 2016 at 02:21 #

    Hello
    I just made this recipe I used bobs red hill vital wheat gluten as the gluten it came out great
    Since I will be the only one eating the pasta
    Can I dry it and then freeze it
    Thanks for the recipe
    Sandra
    From Canada

    • franinmunich March 28, 2016 at 19:33 #

      Hi Sandra, I’m glad you had success with the recipe. I’ve never freezed the noodles because they don’t last that long in our home. If I have extra, I usually dust it with flour (more is better than less. Shake off the flour before cooking.), put it in a tupperware box and store in the fridge. I’ve kept it for about two days. You could try freezing them once and if it doesn’t work, then you’ll know.

  6. ben March 28, 2016 at 16:49 #

    Hi, I realize this is a pretty old post, but I was just directed here via reddit this morning. I’d like to try this recipe. My wife misses pasta very much, and being able to occasionally incorporate it into our low-carb lifestyle would be a huge win.

    However, I’m concerned about the carb count in your recipe. The food labels for the ingredients I’ve found don’t line up with your carb counts, at all:

    120g soy flour ~= 21g carbs
    80g wheat gluten ~= 12g carbs

    for a total of ~33g, or ~8.25g per serving if serving 4. This is more than twice what you have listed! What brands are you using? (Mine are bob’s red mill (flour) & anthony’s (gluten).

    • franinmunich March 28, 2016 at 20:12 #

      Hi Ben, I live in Germany. The nutritional listings on manufacturers labels seem to differ quite a bit. The soy flour brand I buy is a German brand called Sobo and it is organic. I’m not sure how they calculate their carbohydrate content. On the packet it says 3.1g carbohydrates per 100 gr which gives me 3.72 g carbohydrates for 120 gr. I have used other German brands which also have a low count. As for the gluten, there is no listing on my packet. I usually use the nutrition calculator on an American recipe site called Spark People. The entry for gluten appears to have been for a German product and it said 10.2 gr carbohydrates for 100 gr gluten.

      Even if you end up with 8.25gr per serving, don’t be too worried. Barilla Spaghetti has 42 gr carbohydrate per 100 gr. I used to portion 80 gr each for my family and that works out to 33.6gr carbohydrates. So you are only eating ¼ of the carbs which is great!:)

  7. Farzana Firoz October 7, 2016 at 21:25 #

    I have soya allergy. Have you tried with another low carb flour? Carbquick?

    • franinmunich October 7, 2016 at 21:37 #

      Sorry Farzana, I haven’t tried with Carbquick as I can’t buy it here.

  8. Amber A. November 13, 2016 at 05:55 #

    I tried making this using Soy Flower and Vital Wheat Gluten (Bobs Red Mill brand for both) – and the dough came out VERY dry and would not form. Not sure If I am doing anything wrong. I weighed the ingredients as directed. I ended up having to add another egg and some more water to get it to even form into a ball – but at that point I had no hope of it working. Any tips?

    • franinmunich November 13, 2016 at 06:31 #

      Hi Amber,
      sorry to hear you had problems. Different brands of flour and gluten react differently. I would suggest adding water bit-by-bit and perhaps oil too, starting with half teaspoon more. The oil will smoothen the dough a bit. Adding a whole egg would probably have been way too much. Hope this helps.

  9. jane_eyre@yahoo.com December 4, 2016 at 03:39 #

    I have stayed away from pasta since my Type 2 diagnosis. My poor husband is craving pasta. I recently came across this recipe but was apprehensive about trying. But I did for dinner tonight. I used 1/3 C vital wheat gluten flour, 2/3 C soy flour, 1/2 cup egg white, a pinch of salt, and a Tsp oil. It turned out beautifully and I can even use my pasta machine that has been collecting dust for a while now. Of course the proof of the pudding is in the eating. I made a chicken and exotic mushroom white sauce. I love the taste and texture of the pasta. Even my husband, a white pasta person, loved it. Next, I’m going to try making squid ink pasta. I’ll you all updated on that.

    • franinmunich December 4, 2016 at 04:39 #

      Hi Jane,
      great to hear this. I’ll have to try your version. Pasta is so versatile, it’s hard to do without.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Low Carb Soy Flour Pasta/Noodles | yummyumm in a pinch - January 22, 2017

    […] Source: Low Carb Soy Flour Pasta/Noodles […]

Leave a Reply

