Low Carb Dark Chocolate Brownies

25 Sep

I’ve got a new brownie recipe to share. This is a brownie which you should enjoy still warm out of the oven. At this stage it is moist and soft. Once it cools down, it gets cakey but don’t despair. When you want to eat some, microwave the required amount for about 20 seconds. It will become soft again. You can also eat your warm or cakey brownie with some vanilla ice-cream. Finally, if there are any bits left, crumble them up and freeze for later. Make some ice-cream and stir the bits in! I haven’t got that far yet.

After I made this and had a bite, I thought, how could I possibly have made and enjoyed the brownie recipe I posted on 27 June 2010!! It was a brownie made of whey protein powder. Ok, so I had to get rid of my whey protein powder which I didn’t like. I still have quite a lot more, by the way. Somehow I just stopped making those brownies although you could whip them up in a jiffy. On second thoughts, that recipe is very handy when you want one or two portions and want to eat it in 5 minutes! So I won’t write it off yet.

I was browsing through David Lebowitz’ blog (good question, what was I doing there?) and came across his recipe for Gluten-free Chocolate Brownies. I decided it looked ‘adaptable’ and that I would try to substitute the sugar with erythritol and use a dark chocolate with a high cocoa content. I got down to it yesterday.  Out of the oven, as mentioned, the brownie was soft and moist and tasted very rich. After it cooled fully, it became a bit cakey but that could be because I did not follow the instructions fully. David does mention that if you do not beat the batter for a full minute till it pulls away from the sides of the metal pan, your brownie will be crumbly. Since I wasn’t going to run to the kitchen to bake another batch just to see if it turned out any different, I’ll take note of this and come back with an update some time in the future. If you’d like to try this, do go to his site (link above) and read the instructions carefully. The interesting thing about the brownie was that my blood glucose value after one hour was still low despite not injecting any insulin! I did this check twice – testing one hour after eating each piece. So thumbs up! Only 3.2 gr net carbs a piece!

Low Carb Dark Chocolate Brownies – 16 pieces

(adapted from a recipe by David Lebowitz)

85 gr unsalted butter

225 gr dark chocolate (I used one with 81% cocoa)

130 gr erythritol (you could reduce to 100gr)

2 large eggs

1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

3 Tbsp (30 gr) corn starch

100 gr chopped almonds, roasted

Line a square pan (David suggests 8 inch/23cm but I used a 7 inch pan) with two overlapping pieces of foil so that it goes up the sides to the rim and lightly grease the foil with butter (I used parchment paper and did not butter it). Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit or 180 degrees Celsius.

Melt the butter and chocolate in a metal saucepan over very low heat. Add the erythritol and stir till melted.

Remove the pan from the stove top and whisk in the eggs one by one.

Sift the cocoa powder and corn flour together and mix this into the chocolate batter. Then beat the batter vigorously for at least one minute until the batter is no longer grainy and starts to pull away from the sides of the pan a bit.

Fold in the nuts and turn out the batter into the prepared baking pan.

Bake for 30 minutes until the brownies feel just set in the center. Cool the brownie till lightly warm before slicing into 16 pieces.

Remember – this is best enjoyed still warm out of the oven. Later, when it gets cakey, that’s the time to eat it with a scoop of your favourite ice-cream. Freeze the rest for when you make ice-cream.

Nutritional Information – per serving if cut into 16 pieces

Total Calories – 170.5 kcal; Fat – 14.3 gr; Total Carbs – 6.3 gr (dietary fibre – 3.1 gr, therefore net carbs – 3.2 gr); Protein – 3.8 gr

Print this recipe – Low Carb Dark Chocolate Brownies

Leave a Reply

