Summary: June 2011

1 Jul

Phew – June has really raced by. Very uneventful for me in terms of experimenting on new recipes. I was away 18 out of the 30 days in June, happily on vacation and the rest of the time, I didn’t feel like doing much because of my bad back and other problems. First we went for a family party in Freiburg and then we went on vacation to the south of France.  I thought I would recover from all my complaints by not doing much but laze on the beach. Well, my condition did improve but the minute I got back into my daily routine, the backaches started off again. Now I’m going to see an oesteopath which is going to make a dent in my pocket!

Getting back to the nicer part of the month, I did have a lovely time on the Côte d’Azur in the south of France, revisiting places I know and discovering new ones. The weather was again, fantastic and I spent a lot of time on the beach – a real luxury for me. There was light rain on only one day and only for a short period of time. Everything was perfect. I wasn’t so strict with my low carb diet and just upped my insulin to accommodate the increased carbs but having said that, there were a lot of choices and one could easily order a salad or find something with vegetables. I brought a low carb bread mix with me and baked it up in the apartment so I was able to have some low carb bread for breakfast during the first week. It is hard though, to eat low carb bread and watch the rest of the family trying out all the different baguettes and croissants. In the end, I must admit, I gave in and like I said, upped the insulin. Lucikly, I was able to resist the tempting patisseries in the bakeries by not going in at all and in the restaurants, well, the prices took care of that. Coming back home was hard and a lot of work –  grocery shopping, baking up low carb bread, low carb snacks and getting back into the routine.

With all the eating I’ve done this month, needless to say, I’ve put on a little weight and will have to spend the next five weeks getting it off before our next vacation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

