Low Carb Marbled Coconut Muffins

29 Apr

Things have been quiet on the kitchen front lately. We’ve been taking advantage of the fantastic weather and have been spending time in the beer gardens and with friends. It’s also the Easter holidays and we had a wonderful week in the Côte d’Or in Burgundy, France savouring good food and fine wines. It wasn’t easy going low carb and I tried to make ‘wise’ choices where possible. We rented a ‘gîte’ and I cooked a few times so, was able to keep things a little in check.

Now that we’re back, I have to replenish my stock of staples. Just finished baking up a fresh batch of low carb Focaccia bread today and also had time to tinker around with a coconut muffin recipe I tried a couple of weeks ago. The recipe is from Healthy Indulgences. I had made some ‘Nutella’ using erythritol and stevia and it wasn’t sooo good and I wanted to get rid of it. I found that Lauren had a muffin recipe using low sugar nutella and gave it a go with not too pleasing results. The batter stuck to my muffin liners. This happened with my bean cakes and I thought they stuck because of the beans.

The week after I made these, I stumbled across some silicon muffin cases in the local supermarket and immediately grabbed a box. So today, I put them to use for the first time and decided to adapt the Nutella Swirl Cupcakes into Low Carb Marbled Coconut Muffins with very pleasing results! The batter does NOT stick to the muffin cases. Hurrah! These muffins have a slightly coconutty taste. I think I like these a little better than the ones made with beans but that could be because I’ve made so many cakes with beans, I’m sick of them. You’ll have to decide for yourself!

Low Carb Marbled Coconut Muffins (12 pcs)

(this recipe is adapted from Nutella Swirl Cupcakes from Healthy Indulgences)

1/2 cup oil (I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup coconut oil as suggested by the original author)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup cream

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup erythritol

1/4 tsp liquid stevia

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

5 eggs, separated

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

3 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 175 degrees C or 350 degrees F. Get ready your silicon muffin cases or a silicon baking pan. If you don’t have either of these, line a baking pan with parchment paper like this.

Mix coconut flour, erythritol, baking powder and salt together. Add oil, vanilla, milk, cream, liquid stevia and 5 egg yolks and mix well. Whip the egg whites with the cream of tartar till stiff peaks form. Fold the egg whites gently into the batter till well incorporated.

Pour half the mixture into a clean bowl. Add the cocoa powder and 1 tbsp milk to one of the bowls and mix well. Spoon some white and chocolate mixture into each muffin case. Use a small spoon and give the batter in each case one or two swirls. If just using one pan, drop alternate spoonfuls of each coloured mixture into the pan and give it a couple of swirls.

Bake muffins for 20-25 min or till a skewer poked in comes out clean. I haven’t baked the cake in a pan yet but judging from my other cakes, I would say between 50-60 min. If you bake a cake, check after 50 min.

Nutritional Facts –  per muffin

Total cal – 148 kcal; Fat – 12.7 gr; Net Carbohydrates – 2.1 gr; Protein – 4.2 gr

Print this recipe – Low Carb Marbled Coconut Muffins

Leave a Reply

