Armenian Meatballs in Lemon Broth

15 Jul

I printed out this recipe some time ago from the Travellers Lunchbox blog – way before I decided to go on my low carb diet. I came across it again the other day and decided to check if this would meet my low carb diet restrictions or not. It did and I tried this recipe out today. It is absolutely fabulous! Melissa adapted this recipe from a cookbook called The Silk Road Gourmet by Laura Kelley and I in turn adapted it because I was lazy! I made it into a meatball soup (Melissa called hers ‘Lemon Sauce’) and I’m glad I did because the soup makes the dish. You have just got to try it. It would be great on a cold day served with a small side salad or a piece of low carb bread or even some cauliflower rice. The original recipe serves 4 but my family of 3 devoured it up.

Armenian Meatballs in Lemon Broth

serves 3

Armenian Meatballs in Lemon Broth

500gr minced beef or lamb

1 medium onion, finely chopped

zest from 2 organic lemons

1 medium egg

2 Tbsp tomato paste

4 Tbsp chopped cilantro

1 tsp dried oregano

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

Broth

make about 1 litre either vegetable or chicken broth. I made a chicken broth. (Tip: make the broth one day earlier, put it in the fridge overnight and the next day, skim off the fat)

20gr unsalted butter

2 egg yolks

1 Tbsp lemon juice

chilli flakes and parsley for garnishing

Put all the meatball ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix with your hands. Form into meat balls about 50gr in weight. I got 13 meat balls.

Bring the broth to a boil and add the butter. Put in the meatballs, bring to a boil, lower heat, cover and let cook on low fire for 30 minutes. After the time is up, take out the meatballs. Stir the egg yolks with the lemon juice in a medium bowl. Add a few spoons of broth and mix well, then pour the whole thing into the soup, stirring as you pour it in. Put the meatballs back in for a while to heat up. Ladle into bowls, sprinkle with chili flakes (optional) and garnish with parsley!

I didn’t know soup could be so heavenly! I would imagine this recipe would work well with ground turkey or chicken for less calories.

Nutrition Facts: Total Calories – 602.9 kcal; Total Fat – 44.4 gr; Total Carb – 10.8 gr; Net Carb – 9.5 gr; Protein – 34.3 gr

Print this recipeArmenian Meatballs in Lemon Broth

Leave a Reply

