Three-in-one batter – Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge, Brownie and Cookie

27 Jun

I stumbled onto a great find day before yesterday and I’ve just got to post my results although my photos haven’t really come out well (I’ve replaced the photos with better ones. For a close up view, you can click on the photos to open up a larger one) and I think there’s more room for experimenting.

I tried out the low carb brownie recipe by Jeanne in the forum section of Diabetes Daily and ended up with a batter for a great chocolate peanut butter fudge, chocolate peanut butter cookie and chocolate peanut butter brownie! How’s that! I followed Jeanne’s recipe but since I was using a different brand of whey powder, a different sized scoop and didn’t have almond butter,  my fudge brownies turned out different. The next day, I tweaked it a little and was quite happy with the results. Then I read another post of Jeanne’s and learnt that you could make cookies in the microwave using similar ingredients. I then cut off a slice of my fudge, flattened it and popped it into the microwave. The result was a very edible cookie. Today, I microwaved a bigger chunk of the fudge and got a brownie. One batter – 3 snacks!

These are addictive but the recipe below makes two only pieces of whatever you are making so if you do eat it all up, you’ll have capped your snack for the day at 7.8gr carbs*. Don’t make another batch till the next day! 🙂

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge


10 gr vanilla whey powder

5 gr cocoa powder

5 gr Splenda or other sweetener

1 tsp chopped peanuts or almonds

2 tsp peanut butter

1 1/2 tsp milk, cream or creme fraiche

Mix the dry ingredients together and add the peanut butter. It will be very difficult to mix. Add the milk (cream or creme fraiche) bit by bit and mix till you get a thick pliable dough. You may not need all. If you feel that the dough has become too sticky, then add more whey powder to correct the consistency.

Turn out dough onto a small square of wax paper, cover with another sheet and roll into shape with a rolling pin.

For chocolate fudge, roll into a thick bar. Cut into two servings if desired.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie


Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie

Put the fudge, still on the wax paper, into the microwave and microwave for 25 seconds**. If you like your brownie drier, try 30 seconds next time.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie


Roll the fudge pieces into a ball using the palms of your hand, place between wax paper and flatten into a cookie. Again, put the cookie, still on the wax paper, into the microwave and ‘bake’ for 25 seconds**.

Notes:

*If you use Splenda the carb count will be less as there are no carbs. I use Schneekoppe Pro Dieta sweetener which does contain carbs.

**The amount of time could vary with different microwaves and how big you have made your cookie or brownie. As a guide, if it is not quite done, the middle of the cookie will look cooked while the outside edge will look like fudge. When you see that, add 5 seconds more.

I have tried this recipe with milk and creme fraiche while the original recipe said to use heavy cream. I think soy milk would work too.

The nutrition calculations below are calculated using milk but since only 1 1/2 tsp are used (or less), I don’t think the substitutions will make much of a difference to the carb count.

Nutrition Facts if you make two servings out of it: Total calories: 59.7 kcal; Fat – 2.9 gr; Total carbohydrates – 5.1 gr; Fibre – 1.2 gr; Net carbohydrates – 3.9 gr; Protein – 5.8 gr

Afternote:

I tried this with Hazelnut Whey Powder and I found my fudge a little more glooey. I did also add use another brand of peanut butter and a little more liquid (milk) so I am not sure if it was the hazelnut, the peanut butter or the milk which made it more glooey.

5 Responses to “Three-in-one batter – Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge, Brownie and Cookie”

  1. Ginny July 2, 2010 at 23:05 #

    That looks wonderful! I have been staying away from the sweets, even the low carb sweets but maybe will have to try that one.

  2. Laura S. January 20, 2012 at 17:32 #

    Hi, just discovered your blog and am perusing your recipes. I, like the previous commenter have been staying away from sweets for the most part but may have to give these a go. Thanks for your efforts and recipes!
    (not diabetic, just a low carber)

    • franinmunich January 20, 2012 at 17:45 #

      The result of these depends very much on the whey protein you use. I now tend to eat more cake (see my recipes) as they taste more like the stuff with flour. Good luck!

  3. hcg diet for men September 12, 2012 at 02:20 #

    First of all I would like to say great blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior
    to writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts
    out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Kudos!

    • franinmunich September 12, 2012 at 10:53 #

      Hi there,
      I’m glad you enjoyed reading. Maintaining a blog is a lot more work than I had ever imagined. I really have to push myself to keep going through guilt! (Are you going to give up so easily?)

      Writing a blog entry takes me half a day sometimes. I have to make sure I have my photos, edit and resize them, write, read, rewrite, correct errors, make sure I’m making sense, make sure I don’t plagiarize and give due credit, create my printable pdf file, index the recipe…

      I always ask myself how some people can write and write. Where do they find all this time? I guess the difference is also that I am writing about stuff I’ve experimented on which sometimes takes weeks of trial and error. Others just visit a restaurant, try a recipe, comment on a political or other event, write about life etc.

      Starting off writing isn’t as difficult for me as getting the content for my entry which is an acceptable recipe. When I write, I’ll try to start with some kind of comment or background and then work from there. Of course, it can occur that I change the beginning after I’ve written the middle to better reflect what I’m trying to say. Then when I’m into it, I don’t want to be disturbed or distracted.

      I do try to find a stretch of time where I know I won’t be disturbed so that I can clear my mind and concentrate on the task at hand. Sometimes it takes quite a while before I get a free slot.

      I also try not to wax lyrical and write long prologues but prefer to get to the point – I don’t have a literary blog. Be as short and concise as possible and don’t take your readers for idiots. Who has time these days? If there is something they don’t understand, they should ask.

      Hope this helps and that you enjoy writing as much as I do (when I get the time).

      Fran

Leave a Reply

