Gyros from a pan

23 Jun

Before I changed my way of eating, I loved Gyros. For those who don’t know what Gyros is, Gyros is a greek meat dish. Big pieces of meat (I’ve seen lamb, veal and turkey being advertised) are interlaced with lots of fat, seasoned with spices and skewered on a tall vertical spit. To cook the meat, the spit is rotated in front of a heat source. As the meat rotates and gets cooked, the cooked, slightly crispy outer part gets shaved off with a long knife, exposing more meat to get browned. The gyros strips are either eaten with a side salad and pita or rice served on a plate or made into a sandwich with onions, tomatoes, tzatziki and hot sauce if desired.

After I saw a documentary on how gyros meat is put together and how much fat is put in between the meat on the spit, I decided to stay away from eating it so that I could save myself those calories. Unfortunately, there are a lot of gyros takeaway stands in Germany and whenever I walk by, it does smell sooo nice.

One day I was in a Greek restaurant and they had only two dishes which consisted of meat and a side salad. The rest came with potatoes or rice. I opted for souvlaki and salad but they were out so I ended up with gyros and salad. To my surprise, despite the gigantic portion, my post-priandal blood sugar reading was quite good.

So I thought, now here is something I can enjoy again. Just cook it myself so I can reduce the amount of fat, leave out the pita and substitute a big Greek salad!

I found a recipe for pan Gyros on a German website and gave it a try. Of course, it doesn’t taste like the spit-cooked version but it was good and satisfied my craving!

With only about 6.2 gr of carbohydrates per serving (dietary fiber is 2.9gr so the net carbs is only 3.3 gr!), you could easily combine this with a salad for a delicious low carb meal.

The only thing I’ve done differently from the original recipe is I’ve reduced the olive oil from 150ml to 50ml. I didn’t want my meat swimming in oil!

Pan Gyros

serves 4

600gr pork loin, sliced thinly

2 tsp oregano

2 tsp thyme

3 tsp ground sweet paprika

1 tsp ground cumin

2 cloves garlic, pressed

2 onions, sliced

50 ml olive oil

about 2 squirts lemon juice

1 tsp hot mustard

ground pepper, salt as needed

Marinate the meat with all the ingredients for 1-2 days. Fry in a hot pan till cooked and the pork turns slightly crispy.

How do you like this? Only two sentences of instructions!!

Nutrition Facts: Total calories -373.4 kcal; Fat – 25.8 gr; Carbohydrates – 6.2 gr; Dietary Fiber – 2.9 gr; Protein – 29.0

Print this recipe: Pan Gyros

Leave a Reply

