Muffins, muffins, muffins

10 Jun

Blueberry Muffins (top) and Chocolate Chip Muffins (below)

What is it with this low carb diet? I am always hungry! So I’ve been thinking of things to make which are low carb so that I can satiate those hunger pangs.

I found an almond cake recipe on the internet, made some changes and turned them into muffins. On my second try, I’ve added blueberries to one batch and chocolate chips to another batch.  No additional sweetener is added because the designer whey I use already contains a sweetener and I find this is enough.

Update 10 Mar 2011 – when I first started my low carb diet I thought these were great but I’ve changed my mind now. I’ve found an even better recipe using white beans. See my post on 6 Mar 2011.

Here are 3 variations of Almond Muffins.

Almond Muffins (Basic Batter)

makes 9 muffins (not pictured but they look like the blueberry muffins)

50 gr Butter

100 gr cream cheese

2 large eggs

100gr almond meal

1 tsp baking powder

20gr vanilla flavoured protein whey

1 packet lemon zest (this gives it some flavour and masks the protein whey taste – I use ESN Designer Whey which I have decided I don’t like at all but I have 2 kg to get rid of!)

Melt the butter and stir in the cream cheese till well blended. Next beat in the eggs one by one. Add the almond meal, protein powder, baking powder and lemon zest. Mix everything well. Portion into 9 well-greased muffin cups. Bake at 175 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes. Let cool before removing from tin.

Nutrition Facts: Calories per muffin – 167.8 kcal; Fat – 15.2 gr;  Cholesterol – 76.1 mg; Total Carbohydrates – 3.2 gr; Protein – 6.1 gr

Blueberry Almond Muffins

Use the recipe above, omit the lemon zest and add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract.  Portion the batter into 9 muffin cups and drop in 5 fresh blueberries per muffin. (Note: fresh blueberries are heavy and sink to the bottom. You can try with frozen blueberries – 1 tsp full per muffin.)

Nutrition Facts: Calories per muffin – 171.1 kcal; Fat – 15.2 gr;  Cholesterol – 76.1 mg; Total Carbohydrates – 4.1 gr; Protein – 6.2 gr

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Use the Almond Muffin recipe above.  Omit the lemon zest. Instead of vanilla flavoured protein whey, use chocolate flavoured protein whey if you have. If not, vanilla is ok. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder and 50 gr chocolate chips. Yes, the chocolate chips do contain sugar but the sugar works out to around 2.8gr for 9 muffins.

Nutrition Facts: Calories per muffin – 198.3 kcal; Fat – 17.5 gr;  Cholesterol – 76.1 mg; Total Carbohydrates – 6.5 gr; Protein – 6.6 gr

I’ve frozen my muffins and I am now ready for any hunger pangs which may arise the next couple of weeks. 🙂

WARNING! – these muffins are low carb so don’t expect them to taste like the stuff you make with sugar and flour.

Print these recipes: Muffins – 3 variations

One Response to “Muffins, muffins, muffins”

  1. Mark January 24, 2012 at 06:35 #

    Found your site surfin. Heres my 2 cents on why you are hungry on low carb. You need to eat sufficient calories AND fat! You dont need to count calories or fat. Just eat until you are satisfied. You will find that your body will adapt and you will end up only eating what you need without a whole lot of trying. This way of eating has nothing to do with willpower. As long as you are satiated, you will not get hungry. If you try this and you still feel hungry throughout the day, you might want to check on the amount of carbs taken in. Hope this helps

Leave a Reply

