What my doc says

12 May

When you’re new to low carbing, everyday is a new experience. Well, today I want to share my experience on my doctor’s visit.

If you’ve read this blog from the beginning (which isn’t very long ago), you’ll know that I only started low carbing the second week of April 2010. I carefully documented my blood sugar measurements throughout the day, trying to link highs to what I had eaten and the amount of insulin taken and to workouts. It has been a painful process – painful for my fingers (7-10 pricks a day) and painful in that I had to remember to write everything down. When you go out, it is a little inconvenient to remember to measure blood sugar on time. After 4 weeks, I decided it was time to visit my physician and talk to him about it. I was excited and yet apprehensive of the visit – what would he say?

To my decision to go on a low-carb diet – he was not against it. He said that the medical profession is beginning to recognise that a low carb diet is not a bad thing at all, if you are able to follow it. He was very impressed with the meticulous collection of data and said that he could learn a thing or two from me. I showed him my ketone readings which were ++2 (level 3 out of 4). He laughed and said ‘you’re burning fat’! I took that as a positive comment.

To my decision to try and get my Hb1AC down to under 5 – he didn’t agree to that. He said that in Germany, the German Diabetic Association follows guidelines similar to the American Diabetes Association (oh-oh!) and recommends that diabetics keep their Hb1ACs below 7 to minimize damage to the various organs and nervous system. A good Hb1AC for me would be between 6 and 6.5! 4.6 is an impossible target for a diabetic! I told him that there were many people on the English language forums with Hb1ACs of around 5 and this is what people are striving for. He didn’t buy that and said that this is the wrong way to go.

Anyway, after promising that I wouldn’t low carb myself into a stick and disappear from the face of the earth in my efforts to reach 4.6, I left with his blessing that I could continue low carbing as long as I felt good.

At home, I searched the German diabetes websites to see what the general concensus was and it is true – everywhere I read that my aim should be – get that Hb1AC under 7. Well, I know that my risks for heart failure and other diseases will reduce under 7 but I still want to try to get it to the low 5’s.

Will I make it ? – well, keep tuning in to see how I’m doing!

3 Responses to “What my doc says”

  1. Tabea February 12, 2011 at 00:04 #

    Your doctor sounds quite enlightened! It is scary how the medical profession just does not get it about low-carb, but hopefully your numbers will speak for themselves. I am fairly recently diagnosed (Type 1b) and managed to lower my diagnosis A1C of 20% to 5.9 three months later, thanks to quite radical low-carbing. Maybe not as radical as Dr B. though – I could not imagine living my life without tomatoes or onions. I would like to get that down to the lower 5s but am not entirely optimistic about my prospects as I am extremely sensitive to carb and have quite hideous post-prandial peaks.

  2. franinmunich February 12, 2011 at 11:30 #

    Thanks Tabea, for your comment. It’s great that you were able to get your Hb1Ac down to 5.9. I can’t get mine away from the 6.6 to 6.8 range. I am not as radical as I was at the beginning and I think I have to start being more strict. On the good side, I have stopped experiencing dizzy spells, cramps and hair loss.

  3. Tabea February 15, 2011 at 12:58 #

    Dear Fran – Apologies if this is kinda random but I am actually going to be in Munich this week as my other half is there for work so I decided to tag along. I was wondering if you would like to meet up and we can compare ‘rare and unusual’ diabetes stories hahahaha. I arrive on Thursday morning and depart on Sunday morning. Do drop me an email if the idea appeals. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

