Soy good!

10 May

In my earlier post today (scroll down), I talked about buying tofu at the Asian supermarket. So this post will feature a tofu recipe – not with the tofu I bought there but with some I bought at my local organic supermarket. There is a company called Taifun, located in Freiburg im Breisgau in the Black Forest which makes tofu – not only plain tofu but tofu in all its variations. Since trying their products, I have become a fan. I love tofu now. I didn’t like it when I was a kid but I love it now.

Tofu is rich in Omega-3 fat and calcium.  It has been extolled as a source of inexpensive and high-quality protein, with anti-carcinogenic, antioxidant and cholesterol-lowering properties. Of course, there may be some people who are allergic to tofu, just as there are people who are allergic to a host of other things, but if you have no problems with it, tofu is low in carbs and can be used widely in a low carb diet.

There are some concerns that too much tofu may lead to brain aging and finally to Alzheimer’s but this study has been disputed. Tofu is commonly eaten all over Asia in much larger quantities than in the West. If these concerns are true, all the old people in Asia would be suffering from Alzheimer’s disease by now and I am sure this relationship would have been discovered a long, long time ago. Well, I’m not going to throw tofu out of my diet.

Today’s lunch was an Almond-Sesame Tofu and Vegetable Stir-fry pictured above. I’ve used beansprouts, pak choi and red cubanelle peppers but you could just about use any typical stir-fry vegetable. This is the tofu I used in the recipe – almond-sesame tofu (3.3 gr carbs per 100gr). It is my favourite of all the tofu from this company. Put it in anything and you’ll have a great dish!

Almond Sesame Tofu from Taifun

Almond-Sesame Tofu and Vegetable Stir-Fry (serves 2)

200gr Almond Sesame Tofu or other flavoured tofu, cut into cubes about 2cm by 1cm (1 in by 1/2 in)

4 cups bean sprouts, picked over

1 red cubanelle pepper, cut into strips

200gr pak choi, cut into big pieces

1 tomato, cut into eight pieces

2 cloves garlic, sliced

1 stalk green onion, cut into 6cm (2 in) lengths

1 tsp sesame oil

soy sauce to taste

1 Tbsp vegetable oil

Heat the oil in a wok or large frying pan. Add the tofu and fry gently till brown. Remove to drain on a paper kitchen towel.

Add the garlic to wok and fry till fragrant. Add all the veggies and green onions EXCEPT the bean sprouts and stir-fry for a few minutes till the peppers and pak choi stems are cooked. Add the bean sprouts and stir-fry for about 2 minutes. You only want them cooked to the point where they still retain a bit of their crunch.

At this point, put back the tofu. Toss and then sprinkle with sesame oil and soy sauce to taste. For a nice touch, sprinkle with some toasted sesame seeds.

Approx. nutrition facts since veggies are estimated (without toasted sesame seeds) – per serving 296.8 kcal; Fat 13.7 g; Cholesterol 0.0 mg; Sodium 982.5 mg; Carbohydrates 18.2 g ; Protein 29.3 g

Print this recipe: Almond Sesame Tofu and Vegetable Stir-fry

This is more than the 12gr allowed under the Bernstein diet but I’ll save elsewhere to compensate.

2 Responses to “Soy good!”

  1. Laura S. January 20, 2012 at 17:52 #

    I’ve never been a fan of tofu until recently, I found a recipe for tofu fries (yep..and very good I might add) at atkinsdietbulletinboard.com and have used tofu a few times since then. I have never seen the flavored tofu like you have here with the sesame, I would love that! I’m going to look around here in Alabama, US and see if I can find similar.

    • franinmunich January 20, 2012 at 17:58 #

      Try getting it from an organic food shop. They don’t sell this kind of stuff in the Asian shops. Organic tofu manufacturers have to be creative to lure the skeptical western market to try their products so they have come up with all sorts of variations. We have about 10 different types in our shop but I think the almond sesame one is the best. Thanks for the fries tip. I will definitely take a look.

Leave a Reply

