Ups and downs

28 Apr

Lunch today was Baked Salmon with Stir-fried Vegetables. Sounds like a low-carb meal doesn’t it? Well, I made the mistake of adding a half teaspoon (perhaps it was slightly more) of Sambal Badjak which is a sweet chilli paste.  I only took 2 units of insulin. The result was a higher than expected BG.  So gotta remember to compensate for the extra sugar or cut it out. I’ve noticed that since going on this WOE, any sugar or the wrong kinds of carbs sends my BGs shooting. Hmmm…

Another thing I’ve noticed is that I get dizzy especially when standing up. Often I have to close my eyes till I get stable again and then continue.

So now on to today’s food experiment. On my list were Doritos – another recipe taken from The Lighter Side of Low-Carb. I can consider them a success (well, I’ll know if they are crispy tomorrow – after ‘drying’ them out in the oven overnight, they turned soft – they were nevertheless enjoyed) and here they are …

Cheesy Zucchini Doritos

Don’t they make you drool! The Doritos taste really good. I did a test and added one teaspoon of soy flour to one round and one teaspoon of flaxseed to another round – so that I could compare all three versions. I’ll report tomorrow. Of course, adding these extra ingredients will mean an increase in the carb count.

What was really difficult was getting the little rounds off the parchment paper and flipping them. I’ve noticed that with the LC recipes I’ve been experimenting on so far that required baking on parchment, it was pretty difficult getting the item off the paper and flipping it. I spent quite a bit of time fiddling with it! The paper would become wet and a new sheet had to be used for the next baking. My verdict – this recipe was time consuming to make but was delicious. Who would have ever thought that zucchini could turn out so tasty. To be honest, it was the cheese that made it tasty. Speaking of cheese, I must add that instead of 2 cups of one type of cheese, I used 1 cup cheddar, 1/2 cup gouda and 1/2 cup parmesan (because I didn’t have enough of one type). I would say that parmesan is an important component.

Leave a Reply

