Still learning…

26 Apr

Embarking on a new WOE means of course, experimenting to see what works and what doesn’t. Yesterday, I came to the conclusion that Viana’s Veggie Gyros has no place in my diet. I was attracted to the yummy looking photo of this product in the supermarket and decided to give it a try – afterall, the main ingredient listed was tofu which I know to be good for my BG. Furthermore, the nutrition labelling said 100gr contained 5.6gr of carbs which is well within my daily allowed limit.

Veggie Gyros

The taste of the gyros in itself wasn’t too bad.  I actually enjoyed it. The problem was my BG. After the meal, it were ok but later, my BG kept rising. This happened on both occasions I ate the gyros. So obviously, the carbs are changing to glucose quite slowly. One hour after eating the gyros, you don’t see the full effects of the meal. Only much later. It seemed that this meal threw everything off track for the entire day. My conclusion – stay away from it, for me at least. After all, the real gyros with meat tastes a lot better. I had some ‘real’ gyros last week with salad – in fact it was almost a double portion – and I had a BG of under 100!

So much for that … let’s move on to lunch. Today’s lunch was Mediterranean Oven Vegetables with Halloumi Cheese. I have been making this for quite some time and now do it according to ‘feel’ . It is really easy to put together and tastes great. I vary the ingredients according to what is in the fridge.

Mediterranean Oven Vegetables with Halloumi Cheese (serves 2)

Just cut up some ‘mediterranean’ vegetables – whatever you think would go into a dish titled ‘mediterranean’. For me, I can imagine cherry tomatoes, zucchini, aubergines, mushrooms, green beans, red or green bell peppers and carrots.  I also throw in half an onion – half because Dr B says they are sweet if you eat too much. Now, your question will be ‘how much veggies per person?’. Well, just look at the amount of cut veggies and see if you think two people can finish them! It doesn’t matter about the proportions of each. Cut your selected veggies and onion into bite-sized pieces and place in a mixing bowl.

Cut up a piece of halloumi into cubes and add this to the veggies – in my supermarket, they come in 200gr packets so I just put in the whole thing.

Now toss with about 2 Tbsp olive oil, 2 Tbsp tomato paste, a generous sprinkle of  ‘mediterranean herbs’ eg. oregano, thyme, rosemary and season with salt and pepper (take note that the halloumi is already slightly salty so don’t overdo it). I use 2 Tbsp each olive oil and tomato paste for a large serving each for 2 people. If you like your dish with a kick, sprinkle some chilli flakes or add some harissa.  If you are cooking for more than 2, just take a look at the veggie mix and see if you think there is enough oil and tomato paste to coat the veggies. If not, just add a tablespoon more of each. Pour the coated veggie mix into a baking dish. Here’s what your dish will look like before baking.


Mediterranean Oven Vegetables with Halloumi

Now pop the dish into your oven which has been preheated to 180 degrees C and bake for 45 minutes. Couldn’t be simpler! Dining with people not on a low-carb diet? Serve them pita or some other flatbread to soak up the sauce. Yes, this dish doesn’t come out completely dry. The veggies exude their juices while baking.

A note on Halloumi – I’ve noticed that depending on the brand, some Halloumis will melt quicker than others. I once used one that still had a rubbery, squeaky bite to it after cooking, so experiment. I prefer the ones that melt and look like melted mozzarella when done.

A note on carbs – Since I never use the same veggies, I don’t know the carb count but I think it can’t be that bad! I don’t meticulously go around counting carbs – just eyeball it.


Leave a Reply

